REGISTRATION MARK FOR VEHICLES AT A GLANCE¹

In exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section (6) of section 41 of the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988 (59 of 1988), the Central Government hereby allots to the States and Union Territories specified in column (1) of the Table below, the groups of letters specified in the corresponding entry in column (2) thereof, the use as registration mark for each State and Union territory to be followed by the code number of the Registering Authority to be allotted by the State Government or as the case may be, Administrator of the Union territory and not exceeding four figures to be used as registration mark.

State/Union Territories		Group of letters
	(1)	(2)
1.	Andaman and Nicobar	AN
2.	Andhra Pradesh	AP
3.	Arunachal Pradesh	AR
4.	Assam	AS
5.	Bihar	BR
6.	Chandigarh	СН
² [6A.	Chhattisgarh	CG]
7.	Dadra and Nagar Haveli	DN
8.	Daman and Diu	DD
9.	Delhi	DL
10.	Goa	GA
11.	Gujarat	GJ
12.	Haryana	HR
13.	Himachal Pradesh	HP
14.	Jammu and Kashmir	JK
³ [14A	. Jharkhand	JH]
15.	Karnataka	KA
16.	Kerala	KL
17.	Lakshadweep	LD
18.	Madhya Pradesh	MP

TABLE

 Vide S.O. 444 (E), dated 12th June, 1989, published in the Gazette of India, Extra., Pt. II, Sec. 3(ii), dated 12th June, 1989.

2. Ins. by S.O. 1080 (E), dated 30th November, 2000.

3. Ins. by S.O. 14 (E), dated 5th January, 2001.

	(1)	(2)
19.	Maharashtra	MH
20.	Manipur	MN
21.	Meghalaya	ML
22.	Mizoram	MZ
23.	Nagaland	NL
24.	Orissa	OR
25.	Pondicherry	РҮ
26.	Punjab	PN
27.	Rajasthan	RJ
28.	Sikkim	SK
29.	Tamil Nadu	TN
30.	Tripura	TR
31.	Uttar Pradesh	UP
¹ [31A	. Uttaranchal	UA]
32.	West Bengal	WB

^{1.} Ins. by S.O. 1080 (E), dated 30th November, 2000.